Post holiday sales are great for scarfing up super deals on holiday decorations, paper supplies, cards, ribbons, boxes, lights, and fancy ornaments. I love diving in and discovering grand ideas for new projects, and future must-do planning. Often, I find these events tell me things—things like, my eyes are bigger than my time available, and, concept and execution time lines are perilously different, yet I stride into the fray again.

I prowl the stores with the biggest discounts, searching out the best deals that I can use for the *next* holiday, feeling smug and righteous in snagging outrageous discounts for what I’m sure to need next year.

Three years ago I came across a stash of photo frame greeting cards. What luck! For a fraction of the original price, I got a couple sets of holiday photo frame cards with envelopes. I stored the treasures away with the holiday materials, secure in the conviction that I had the whole holiday card thing set up for 2008.

Except—I forgot I had them, and sent other cards out that year. When the ‘after’ sales commenced, I pounced on still more of them, forgetting that I already had a stash.

In 2009 I rediscovered the double stash and realized that:
a) I had no appropriate/current photos to insert
b) I had no time to collect more before it was beyond useless to send them

Here in 2010 I have been reviewing several of my stashes, attempting to be honest with myself about whether to use them, toss them, or share them with someone else at the annual church rummage sale, eBay, or Freecycle. Again, the holiday photo frame cards were unearthed. Again, no acceptable photos were found.

I gave the camera to my 5-year-old grandson over the Thanksgiving weekend. He did get a few memorable images but alas, not quite suitable for a holiday card (missing heads, fuzzy, etc)
Liam checks the lens

Liam self portrait

Hmmm…
grampa carves the turkey

Maybe….?
playing innocent

I have concluded that, like some of my other ‘grand ideas’, this ship has sailed. I need to accept that, while I like the idea of photo cards, it just ain’t gonna work for me. Again.

Sigh.

Therefore, it is time to make the holiday cards that are
a) not obnoxious over-achieving braggart epistles (we get too many of those as it is)
b) indicative of our differing faiths and convictions (agnostic/Christian)
c) do-able within budget and time constraints (no budget, but more time than than last year)

E-cards are an option. They are just as labor-intensive as the printed, signed, and mailed versions, but can be delivered instantly, thereby allowing me a few more days to work on them. A split of paper and electronic is most likely.

I love everything leading up to the grand holidays. I love the food, the music, the crafts, the smells, the carols, the knitting (surely you knew that knitting would be in here, yes?), making holiday ornaments and gifts with the kids… don’t you just *love* the holidays?

