Lest you imagine that I am buried under knitting trauma, allow me to reassure you that not all is lost! In fact, I take regular breaks into other projects and some of them are going quite well.

The recent Winter Knitting Olympics encouraged me to persevere in the Vintage Sock pattern that I have had for two years. It has an inverted wineglass heel that looked so pretty that I ignored my reservations and ordered it. (Once again, I blame the Yarn Harlot. She made it look possible, if not exactly easy.) I read the pattern and did not understand it, so it sat in my yarn stash for two years. Sometimes, however, you simply have to start, and pray it will make sense as you work on it. These leaps of faith have (so far) about a 60/40 success rate for me, hence the hesitation.
Ivy

I knew I would not finish the socks in the 18 days allotted, but my goal wasn’t to complete them. It was to commence and persevere. I persevered through 35 (I did a few extra for training purposes) of the grape/ivy leaves, and I have actually started the toe-up cast-on but am now floundering at the ‘make a hole to put one of the small leaves in’ part. I need time on Ravelry to get past that conundrum. They will be heirloom socks, let me tell you! I’ll keep you posted.

While in the process of making all those leaves, I also investigated knitted toys. After collecting quite a few patterns and books, I selected some indigo-purple and some coordinating dark green left-over sock yarn to practice knitting a bunch of grapes. I ran out of the grape yarn before I made enough of them so the cluster is on the smallish size. Here it is displayed at last Sunday’s SnB with the requisite glass of wine and the next OTN sock pattern. <g> (They are supposed to be dead easy but I have already had to tink back one whole pattern repeat because I can’t count.)
Knitted Grapes

The deal with these toy patterns is that they are very anti-social. You have to pay attention to where you are in the pattern and every single row needs to be accounted for in order. Toys also need stuffing. I have carted around bags of fiber-fill fluff for years, using little of it, so when I needed it, of *course* I couldn’t find it! The basement got quite a bit more organized and cleaned in the process, so I can’t completely complain (much).

And now for the
Public Service Announcement:
Brother Dave owns a Prius and is also a master mechanic. These are his (tested) instructions on the issue with Toyota acceleration problems:

Following the Prius recall closely. I have 51000 miles on mine now. Today I tried a couple of things “just in case”. The power button is disabled if the car is moving. The work-around is to hold the shifter in neutral. The trans will disengage and then the car can be brought to a stop normally. I have tried this …on the way to work while cruising and under acceleration and it works.
The Power and Park switches do not operate while the car is in motion to protect the transmission and avoid a catastrophic accident if the trans was put in park while moving. When the car is at rest pushing either of those buttons places the trans in park. I’m curious as to why an “emergency” procedure has not been announced.

