Liam has requested a pajama hat to wear at night. He described a long cone-shaped hat with a tassel at the end. Using his crayons, markers and colored pencils, he showed me the colors to use, and that the tassel needed to be white (he got a  black piece of paper so it would show up).

Since there was a yarn sale going on at the online co-op and the yarn company makes really good stuff, I asked Liam to help me select yarn for it. He looked at the sale yarn online, compared colorways to his color ‘chart’ and selected a specific blend.

As we were leaving (this was at last week’s regular dinner visit) Liam wanted to know if I was done making his pajama hat yet.

Explaining to a 4-year-old that the yarn hadn’t been shipped in the 2 hours since he requested it, nor had I whipped up a hat in that time was a reality check for him… that bounced. He glumly agreed to wait a little longer.

Liam likes his practice pajama hat, but the real one should 'be down to here' (hip level), he says.

Liam likes his practice pajama hat, but the real one should 'be down to here' (hip level), he says.

I did not have the colors he asked for in my current stash. I didn’t have an actual ‘pattern’ either. This is a first draft, a practice pajama hat to tide him over until the real yarn gets here and I can make a better one more to his specifications… as in, make it longer, and please don’t forget the tassel, okay?

Liam is generous in showing appreciation. He made me (well, me and grampa, and uncle Phil) bookmarks out of an index card, decorated with a Mickey Mouse sticker and mine also had a really good flower drawing. He ‘wrapped’ the gifts in colored construction paper and gave them to us tonight.

They have all been getting into the Halloween holiday spirit, decorating windows and walls with jack-o-lanterns… next Wednesday we will do real PUMPKINS!

Getting into the Halloween holiday spirit!

Getting into the Halloween holiday spirit!

