Kermit

Kermit was right. However, it *is* getting easier to “go green” because there are finally more options all across the board. There are hybrid cars not just in development but actually on the roads. Shelves in the marketplace are filled with phosphate-free, biodegradable cleaning products. I have been using canvas bags for grocery trips since the early 90’s. People looked at me oddly but allowed the eccentricity. Now the stores are hawking reusable bags, WITH their logos on them, for cold and hot foods, and cotton mesh for fruits and vegetables. There are many made of recycled plastic that sport a variety of colorful themed photos. The nylon bag stash comes in several sizes and has it’s own tiny bag to stuff it into. They are marketed as emergency-keep-in-your-pocketbook/handbag/purse. The colors are bright, the fabric lightweight, and once I took the knitting out of the one my mother gave me, I find I can use it for CVS purchases, and other impromptu carrying.

I am a Green Bag convert. They really do keep fruits and veggies fresh for two weeks and longer. We picked fresh blueberries at the family farm in early August. I stored them in green bags in the frig. There was still a small bag in the frig two and a half weeks later. With a heavy sigh I grabbed the bag, took it to the compost pile and tossed the contents in. They were not gross. They were not smushy or discolored or in any way changed from when I first stored them in the frig. I was seriously pissed I hadn’t checked before chucking them. I now use Green Bags consistently. There is some basil I picked a couple weeks ago (thanks to my fellow farmer at work for her crop sharing!) that is still looking and smelling fresh. I have dipped into it for salads and pasta a few times and it still is good!

Because we do not have young children at home anymore, we don’t half-fill up our large garbage can every week. Plastic is recycled. Plastic bags are reused for dog dirt and the extras go back to the stores themselves. Paper and cardboard boxes are collapsed and recycled. We use things up, wear them out, repair them or make do. Those things that are still usable but not actually being used by us are posted on Freecycle.

You’d think I’d have less “stuff” with all this efficient use of resources, but somehow I manage to end up with more stuff than I need because… well… because it caught my eye, it was pretty, it was loved once but not-so-much now, it was an idea that didn’t work, or was abandoned due to lack of time or interest…

Jess does an amazing job of being green. She has replaced a lot of petroleum cleaning products with natural cleaners, stopped buying Pampers and begun using flushable diaper inserts, and her supply of reusable shopping bags puts my lot to shame. She buys organic foods, shops at local organic farm co-ops, and scrutinizes the packaging of toys for potential problems.

I have benefited by her home cleansing efforts because when push comes to shove, I am more frugal than I am earth-conscious. I do not buy the ‘bad’ stuff, and I do draw the line on some products, still, I will gladly take almost-full bottles of Windex and use them up. I don’t think I will need to purchase any surface and glass cleansers or bathroom cleansers before the new year. (Actually, that may be partly because I do not clean as much as I used to, or even as much as I should — mostly spurts as the mood, energy, and time strike me.)

And now, a proverbial non sequitor:
CCR came across a novelty site and shared it on her blog. She encouraged others to try it, so I did.

HowManyOfMe.com
Logo There are
1
or fewer people with my name in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

How do you like that “1 or fewer” phrase?

