All together now….“Ooooh! Ahhhh! Pretty!”

Monkey Socks On The Needles

I have joined the hordes of knitters knitting up the Monkey Socks pattern. This special hand-painted yarn deserved a special pattern which (it turns out) isn’t as visible with this yarn as I had thought it would be. Here. try a close-up:

Monkey Socks On The Needles closeup view

I began this pair last month to occupy my hands while on my trip to and from Florida. Yes, the one where I broke my foot. That trip.

I know the woman who hand-painted the yarn. It cost the earth, but I figured if DH could have an outrageously expensive pair of socks, so could I. I was assured that the hank would probably, almost assuredly be enough for a pair of socks. I wound the hank into a large ball. Hmm…. What if there *isn’t* enough? I’d rather run out at the same place on both socks. No one sees the toes inside your shoes. Now, without getting too anal, how the blazes was I supposed to be sure I split the ball exactly in half?

Super suggestion from co-worker CCR pointed me to the mail room where I measured and wound, measured and wound, using the postal scale until I had two balls of equal weight. (My mind just drifted… excuse me…)

Okay. I’m back.

As you can see from the images above, I did run out early. Not to worry, the artist is a member of my Sunday SnB (Stitch-n-Bitch, for those unfamiliar with the acronym) group. She will dye, no, paint (she explained the difference between the processes) another lot this month so I will be able to finish the socks in a jazzy complementary variegated yarn in time for my birthday next month.

Staying off my feet means more knitting time. Mother’s sweater is progressing quickly. I should have it done and off to her by mid-to-late-April… or about the time she won’t have a need for it until the fall.

