The melody instantly took me back to days of yesteryear, when I sang along with my daughter and nieces the “Hello Song” from Magic Garden. It was a perfect intro selection for:

The 35th Annual

World Hello Day
November 21st, 2007

Greet Ten People for Peace

WBZ Radio noted that today, November 21, 2007, is the 35th annual World Hello Day. Anyone can participate in World Hello Day simply by greeting ten people.

World Hello Day was begun in response to the conflict between Egypt and Israel in the Fall of 1973. Since then, World Hello Day has been observed by people in 180 countries. For more information, including the names of those who work at promoting this annual event, visit http://www.worldhelloday.org.

I love the internet. In no time at all I found a clip of the song (sung slower than I remembered, but that’s probably just me) and happily sang along as I scanned the long list of people who also had strong fond memories of the program. The Giggle Patch with their truly awful jokes (“What is green and green and green and green? — A pickle rolling down the hill!”). Sherlock was a hot pink squirrel who was forever trying to cadge extra peanuts off of Carole and Paula. The story box always had neat props and costumes to act out the story of the day.

There are worse ways to start the day…

