I got in from chorus just before 10 PM, greeted and played with the puppies, went over some tax expensed items with DH for our tax return this year, emptied the dishwasher, checked the calendar and weather for tomorrow, read e-mail, checked favorite blogs…and around about 5 of 11, my DH came down to say, “Oh, I forgot to tell you…”

“Yes?” I replied, looking up from my giggling reading of a post on a padded bra on a dressmaker’s dummy.

“My parents are coming up to visit this weekend, arriving Saturday and leaving on Monday.”

DH really should have ducked and ran at that point.

It is not that I don’t enjoy visiting with his parents. They are delightful people. His father is rather less social than his mother, but still, he is okay to be around…preferably at their house. Where I don’t have to clean, or worry about what is or is not in the cupboards, or rearrange my entire weekend that I had major plans already set to prepare for Easter, catch up on cleaning, food shopping, post office, SLEEP, book and movie backups, dogs…

Recap the remaining week, shall we?

Leave for work around 7:40 AM (or so), leave work between 4:30 PM (Wednesday) and 5:45 (most days); on Wednesday pack up dinner for dogs and head to NH for dinner with DD, DSIL, and DGS, getting home around 9:30; on Thursday, greet puppies, light snack before voice lesson and afterwards directly to chorus, arriving back home just after 9:30; Fridays are our regular night out at Pho ’88, the local Vietnese restaurnat and then to (restock liquor supplies and) the food store arriving home around 8:30 PM.

Do you see a lot of spare time there to house clean for in-laws?

Arghhh!

I love my husband. I love my husband, I love my…

