Last week:

“Open wider.”

“No, I mean, drop your jaw.”

“Your mouth doesn’t need to move so much. It’s all in the tongue. Watch in the mirror. See what I mean?”

This week:

“Much better quality! Either you are feeling more comfortable with me or you have been focusing on your practicing this week. Keep it up!”

Get your mind out of the gutter. These are direct quotes from my first two voice lessons.

While I have sung practically all my life (the first year or two probably weren’t worth counting), including publicly with my sister, and in choirs, choruses, etc…I am only just now taking voice lessons. This generous gift, courtesy of my DD (dear daughter), has been an eye-opening experience, as I knew it would be.

The first week my instructor was trying to get me more relaxed, loosen up, etc., because I was holding myself too stiffly, she felt. Also, even though I thought I was opening my mouth to sing, she pointed me to the mirror, and said, “No, you’re not.”

She was right.

Most of my voice practice this week consisted of warm-ups in front of a mirror, trying to get my jaw, mouth, and tongue to position correctly for consistent quality of sound. It felt (feels!) weird. And I looked and sounded funny so I kept cracking up!

I have decades of bad vocal habits to correct. I read aloud very well. My diction and enunciation is generally excellent (thank you, mom), but singing is different than reading aloud.

This week I came in on the heels of another adult student. This isn’t very nice of me, but after hearing her lesson, I was glad to know that my voice was better. I am not at the bottom of the barrel of her students.

Ah, silly vanity!

p.s. Stephen spent ages teaching Dixie to “sing” and sometimes when I am vocalizing throughout the house, she joins in with a quizzical look on her face. I don’t want to consider that too closely.

