menopause, the musical

Last night we went to see a production of “Menopause, the Musical” at the Lowell Auditorium. I laughed so hard my eyes were leaking and I had trouble catching my breath. The parodies of familiar songs were brilliantly choreographed. The Tina Turner “What’s Love Got to Do With It?” sung in Tina’s short leather dress while another cavorted about in  black lingerie and a bright red vibrating dildo brought the house down.”Tropical Heat Wave” became “Tropical Hot Flash” and “Puff the Magic Dragon” was cleverly adapted to “Puff, My God, I’m Dragging”!

So of course I bought the CD. And was royally pissed the parodies weren’t included. BUMMER!

The sold out Lowell Auditorium had about 3 times the # of seats the Boston playhouse had…I would love to see it again in that more intimate environment. And maybe with another group of women. Poor hubby Stephen and Chris’ hubby Tom didn’t get most of the hysteria and black humor of it all. We were surrounded by “well-scented” (nice one at a time, but so much on so many!) women who were definitely “Living Out Loud” in their enjoyment. I was worried when the lady behind me laughed herself into hiccups but with a whoop and a cackle, she breathed again.

excerpted from the web site:
Menopause The Musical® (MTM) all started in a tiny 76-seat perfume-shop-turned-theatre in Orlando, Fla., on March 28, 2001. Four women at a Bloomingdale’s lingerie sale with nothing in common but a black lace bra and hot flashes, night sweats, memory loss, chocolate binges, not enough sex, too much sex, and more. A joyful parody of 25 re-lyricized classic baby boomer hits, the 90-minute show features such chart-toppers as “I Heard It Thru the Grapevine; You No Longer See 39” and the disco favorite “Stayin’ Awake! Stayin’ Awake!”

